{"blog_navigation_items":[{"id":1,"label":"Interiors","description":"\u003cp\u003eInteriors\u003c/p\u003e\r\n","description_heading":"Our Favorites:","url":"/lifestyle/category/interiors","blog_navigation_links":[{"id":1,"label":"Home/Room Tour","url":"/lifestyle/category/interiors/home-room-tour"},{"id":2,"label":"DIY Design","url":"/lifestyle/category/interiors/diy-design"},{"id":18,"label":"Tips \u0026 Tricks","url":"/lifestyle/category/interiors/tips-and-tricks"},{"id":21,"label":"Design Direction","url":"/lifestyle/category/interiors/design-direction"},{"id":25,"label":"Gray's Home","url":"/lifestyle/category/interiors/grays-home"}],"blog_navigation_blocks":[{"label":"Home Tour: Party at the Parker with Amy Tan","url":"https://graymalin.com/lifestyle/amy-tan","id":27,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/027/original/unspecified-9.jpg?1536775121?updated=1536775121"},{"label":"Tips \u0026 Tricks: The Modern Day Guide on How to Use Wallpaper","url":"https://graymalin.com/lifestyle/the-modern-day-guide-on-how-to-use-wallpaper","id":21,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/021/original/0-_KateLester_GMblog_WP_001_CROPPED.jpg?1536775121?updated=1536775121"},{"label":"Design Direction: Decorate According to Your Zodiac Sign","url":"https://graymalin.com/lifestyle/how-to-decorate-according-to-your-zodiac-sign","id":14,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/014/original/the-diver.jpg?1536775247?updated=1536775247"},{"label":"Gray's Home: Hawaiian Guest Bedroom Escape","url":"https://graymalin.com/lifestyle/his-hawaiian-guest-bedroom-escape","id":19,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/019/original/Guest_bedroom-12_preview-1.jpg?1536775145?updated=1536775145"}]},{"id":2,"label":"Travel","description":"\u003cp\u003eTravel\u003c/p\u003e\r\n","description_heading":"Our Favorites:","url":"/lifestyle/category/travel","blog_navigation_links":[{"id":3,"label":"Jetset Journal","url":"/lifestyle/category/travel/jetset-journal"},{"id":4,"label":"Travel Guide","url":"/lifestyle/category/travel/travel-guide"},{"id":5,"label":"Out of Office","url":"/lifestyle/category/travel/out-of-office"}],"blog_navigation_blocks":[{"label":"Travel Guide: Free Spiriting in Harbour Island","url":"https://graymalin.com/lifestyle/eat-sleep-and-love-harbour-island-bahamas","id":6,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/006/original/The_Free_Spirit__Harbour_Island.jpg?1536774739?updated=1536774739"},{"label":"Jetset Journal: Exploring Bolivia","url":"https://graymalin.com/lifestyle/exploring-bolivia","id":8,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/008/original/Screen_Shot_2018-09-12_at_10.41.22_AM.png?1536774739?updated=1536774739"},{"label":"Out of Office: The Most Secluded Beaches I’ve Traveled To","url":"https://graymalin.com/lifestyle/the-most-secluded-beaches-i-ve-traveled-to","id":24,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/024/original/7-_the-pink-umbrella-hawaii.jpg?1536774739?updated=1536774739"},{"label":"Travel Guide: San Diego Beaches","url":"https://graymalin.com/lifestyle/san-diego-beaches","id":7,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/007/original/La_Jolla_Surfboard.jpg?1536774829?updated=1536774829"}]},{"id":3,"label":"The Art of Having Fun","description":"\u003cp\u003eThe Art of Having Fun\u003c/p\u003e\r\n","description_heading":"Our Favorites:","url":"/lifestyle/category/the-art-of-having-fun","blog_navigation_links":[{"id":10,"label":"Happy \u0026 Healthy","url":"/lifestyle/category/the-art-of-having-fun/happy-and-healthy"},{"id":6,"label":"Sips \u0026 Snacks","url":"/lifestyle/category/the-art-of-having-fun/sips-and-snacks"},{"id":13,"label":"Gray's Musts","url":"/lifestyle/category/the-art-of-having-fun/gray-s-musts"},{"id":8,"label":"Pop The Bubbly","url":"/lifestyle/category/the-art-of-having-fun/pop-the-bubbly"},{"id":22,"label":"Out of Frame","url":"/lifestyle/category/the-art-of-having-fun/out-of-frame"},{"id":24,"label":"Shades of Gray","url":"/lifestyle/category//the-art-of-having-fun/shades-of-gray"}],"blog_navigation_blocks":[{"label":"Shades of Gray: Our Journey","url":"https://www.graymalin.com/lifestyle/our-journey","id":28,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/028/original/Baby_Reveal-sized-3.jpg?1537327319?updated=1537327319"},{"label":"Sips \u0026 Snacks: Poolside Pineapple Ginger Daiquiris","url":"https://www.graymalin.com/lifestyle/poolside-pineapple-ginger-daiquiris","id":10,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/010/original/1-_Pineapple-Ginger-Daiquiris-14.jpg?1536776607?updated=1536776607"},{"label":"Get Gifting: The Best Baby Shower Gifts","url":"https://www.graymalin.com/lifestyle/the-best-baby-shower-gifts","id":23,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/023/original/BOG-Collectors-Edition-9_%281%29.jpg?1536776608?updated=1536776608"},{"label":"Pop the Bubbly: The Party Invitation Timeline","url":"https://www.graymalin.com/lifestyle/the-party-invitation-timeline","id":20,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/020/original/1-_champagne.jpg?1536776608?updated=1536776608"}]},{"id":4,"label":"Latest \u0026 Greatest","description":"\u003cp\u003eLatest \u0026amp; Greatest\u003c/p\u003e\r\n","description_heading":"Our Favorites:","url":"/lifestyle/category/latest-greatest","blog_navigation_links":[{"id":14,"label":"Brand New","url":"/lifestyle/category/latest-greatest/brand-new"},{"id":15,"label":"Behind the Scenes","url":"/lifestyle/category/latest-greatest/behind-the-scenes"},{"id":16,"label":"Read All About It","url":"/lifestyle/category/latest-greatest/read-all-about-it"},{"id":17,"label":"You're Invited","url":"/lifestyle/category/latest-greatest/you-re-invited"}],"blog_navigation_blocks":[{"label":"Brand New: Far Far Away III","url":"https://www.graymalin.com/lifestyle/far-far-away-iii","id":16,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/016/original/Llamas_with_Tassels_I.jpg?1536777844?updated=1536777844"},{"label":"Read All About It: 10 Prints to Get Before They Sell Out","url":"https://www.graymalin.com/lifestyle/10-prints-to-get-before-they-sell-out","id":17,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/017/original/Positano_Beach_Coast.jpg?1536777844?updated=1536777844"},{"label":"You're Invited: Best of Kids Party Invitations","url":"https://graymalin.com/lifestyle/best-of-kids-party-invitations","id":5,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/005/original/Always_Welcome_at_the_Parker.jpg?1536777844?updated=1536777844"},{"label":"Read All About It: 5 Reasons to Invest in Fine Art Photography","url":"https://www.graymalin.com/lifestyle/5-reasons-to-invest-in-fine-art-photography","id":22,"image":"https://res.cloudinary.com/gray-malin/image/fetch/c_scale,q_50,w_1000/https://s3.amazonaws.com/gray-malin/blog_navigation_blocks/images/000/000/022/original/Screen_Shot_2018-08-29_at_9.34.15_AM.png?1536777844?updated=1536777844"}]}]}

Interiors

Home/Room Tour: Whitney Port's Design Studio

Hi Everyone!

Recently, I had the pleasure of visiting with Miss Whitney Port in the Gray Malin studio. As I'm sure many of you already know, Whitney is a woman's contemporary fashion designer of her namesake line Whitney Eve. She and her sisters have been long time supporters of my work, so it felt only right to add some Gray Malin to her design studio. I naturally invited her in for a special studio visit in order to select just the right print for her new space.

One of the first things I asked her about was what she considered her interior decorating style to be, which she answered with "I love LOTS of color and mixing a lot of different textures. My style is very California Casual mixed with Tropical Chic," which I can obviously (totally) appreciate!

After much deliberating, "I looooove all of the beach scenes. They give you this feeling of freedom and vacation that transports you to a dreamy exotic place," she landed on Pink Umbrellas from my aerial photography series Art Deco Miami...

5Q2A6721

She went on to explain her choice, "The pale pink and nude tones in the specific painting I chose felt very reflective of my style and my clothing line as well as the vibe of the office." I love that she really gave her decision some thought and feel very flattered that it reflects her personal as well as the Whitney Eve aesthetic.

After a quick signature, we sent Whitney's print off to Simply Framed, and then a few weeks later I popped in to see the final result.

Whitney Port-Gray Malin Studio

It was so fun to see Whitney again and tour the Whitney Eve design studio.

Whitney Port Studio Gray Malin Blog-Whitney Port Studio

As we strolled through the space, we caught up for a bit and chatted about favorite places to vacation. Big Sur, California is her top vacation destination so far and coincidently, I was there for Easter weekend. Whitney, I could not agree more on how beautiful this sliver of the world truly is!

Gray Malin - Whitney Port Studio

Naturally, I poked around a bit and I must say the space was pretty much exactly how I'd decorate it, if I were a fashion designer!

2P6A1767

I love her use of color, prints, and textures.  Visiting Whitney in her studio reminded me of something she told me in mine regarding how she connects to my work,  she said "It's your love of color and a lifestyle you wish you could obtain, those are what keep me coming back for more!!!"Gray Malin Blog-Whitney Port Studio

Well Whitney, all I can say is, when will you be coming out with menswear?? I'm in!

Thanks so much to Whitney for stopping into the Gray Malin studios, inviting me into Whitney Eve, and most importantly for giving Pink Umbrellas a beautiful home!

And, as always, thank you for following along, and also take a look at this very fun interview I did with Whitney for her site!

Cheers,

xx

GM

 

{"id":null,"number":null,"item_total":"0.0","total":"0.0","ship_total":"0.0","state":"cart","adjustment_total":"0.0","user_id":null,"created_at":null,"updated_at":null,"completed_at":null,"payment_total":"0.0","shipment_state":null,"payment_state":null,"email":null,"special_instructions":null,"channel":"spree","included_tax_total":"0.0","additional_tax_total":"0.0","display_included_tax_total":"$0.00","display_additional_tax_total":"$0.00","tax_total":"0.0","currency":"USD","considered_risky":false,"canceler_id":null,"display_item_total":"$0.00","total_quantity":0,"display_total":"$0.00","display_ship_total":"$0.00","display_tax_total":"$0.00","display_adjustment_total":"$0.00","token":null,"checkout_steps":["address","delivery","complete"],"bill_address":null,"ship_address":null,"line_items":[],"payments":[],"shipments":[],"adjustments":[],"credit_cards":[],"promotions":[],"total_shipment_cost":"$0.00","permissions":{"can_update":false},"use_shipping_for_billing":true,"use_new_ship_address":true,"use_new_bill_address":false,"selected_ship_address":null,"selected_bill_address":null,"display_completed_at":null,"item_count":0,"subtotal_minus_promos":"$0.00","coupon_codes":[]}

This site uses cookies to allow better navigation. By closing this banner, scrolling this page or clicking any of its elements, you are giving consent to all cookies. To learn more and to change your preferences please see our Cookies Policy.